After the storm

Well, my kids and I have been having a little go-around on Facebook, as my friends might have noticed. It has to do with my attachment to weather news, weather forecasts, and weather warnings, which my kids collectively lump together willy-nilly with my fondness for disaster movies. Things like Volcano, Tornado, The Perfect Storm, The Day After Tomorrow and my particular favourite 2012. That’s the one where the Yellowstone super volcano blows its top destroying half the world with lava and the other half with ash. And, in glorious FX half of California slides into the sea. Movies involving asteroids, journeys to the centre of the earth, or into any abyss are also high on my top 10 list. My kids think that’s all over-the-top, and maybe a little over-the-edge too.

To which my usual aside to anyone in the house who will listen to me is, “That’s real. It could happen, you know.” The kids laugh. And I do have the good sense to leave it there. (Most of the time.) Somehow, in a way that I have never quite understood, they put their indulgences in seasons and seasons worth of “Deadliest Catch” in a different category on the normal vs insane continuum.

But then, if they are planning a trip to, or from, Haida Gwaii though, I can count on a call,  “Hey mum what’s the weather doing? “ That’s when they refer to me as “the weather goddess.” And I have to admit, I preen then… but just a little bit.

The other mum-ism that sends them into gales of glee is any comment I might casually offer about how close to our house the BC ferries come as they enter and exit Skidegate Landing. When we lived down “at the Point”, which we did for some eight years, sometimes the ferry (the Queen of Prince Rupert or the Queen of the North in those days) skimmed so close to shore around the rocky point that I was sure it was going to land in the middle of the living room and I’d be serving coffee to the crew on our front deck. I swear if the tide was right, from our front room window, I could read what was on the menu in the aft cafeteria. On a southerly wind I could certainly smell it from smoking funnels as the engineers kicked up the motors and the ferry plowed out of Skidegate Inlet on its way across Hecate Strait to Prince Rupert.

It was all a pretty good family joke.

But I’ve got them all really riled, now! I’ve got my hands on Facebook, and figured out how to copy and post. As son J says, “Oh no, Facebook has given her a public medium. God help us all!” And daughter S says, “Life will never be the same! Hee hee hee.”

You guys are so right! And they hadn’t even thought that I’d blog too!

So here is today’s weather report.

The storm that came through this week began it’s first day as this:

North Pacific April 1, 2012

The barbs that showed the wind speed on the charts at the beginning of the storm were really impressive. Sure glad I was nowhere out at sea when that storm dropped like a bomb.

On the second day the storm looked like this as it rolled onward to the coast:

The height of the storm was in the early morning of April 2 when the winds at the Sandspit airport reached 103 km/hour (55 knots), gusting too 122 km/hour (65 knots, hurricane force). The seas at the North Hecate buoy reached 8.9 metres (29 ft) early Monday morning.  And up until this afternoon, the seas have been well above 3 metres. The Sunday night and Monday night ferry sailings from ‘Rupert were cancelled. The Northern Adventure (locally known as the Vomet Comet, for its particularly nauseating tendency to yaw and fetch up)  is expected to make it over tonight.

Meanwhile, supplies of fresh vegetables and milk in the grocery stores have been done since about Saturday or Sunday. Usually by the end of the week the produce section is pretty tattered and everyone is looking forward to the early morning Monday freight deliveries from the ferry landing.  But this week, we’re down to pathetic. Leafy or green is not happening. Thank heavens for good old-fashioned root vegetables: potatoes, parsnips, carrots, onions and turnips.

There will be a big rush to the store tomorrow! And it’s supposed to be Co-op sale day too.

About blue sea sky

By Cynthia Jones Davies, writer researcher who lives on Haida Gwaii.
This entry was posted in Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to After the storm

  1. Oh I love this Cindy…yea…thought it would scare us eh…didn’t live this long for nothing

  2. Linda Clements says:

    Loved this myself Cindy as I am in Ontario right now and I do check the weather but loved the visual you have on here. WOW!!!! Weather here us sunny and cold so I will be going for a walk shortly.

  3. Patti Jones says:

    Great blog – and may I add, there wasn’t even a clove of garlic to be had in City Centre yesterday, which left our hummus just slightly lacking. I did find 3 small strays in the bottom of my fridge drawer though. 🙂

  4. Sarah Loewen says:

    The best part is then the whipped cream arrives all frothy and partially whipped.

Comments are closed.